Sunday, December 9, 2007

TO ME THATS HIPHOP!!




How can one be a lover of hip hop and not know who James Yancey aka Jay Dee is or known to family and friends as J Dilla.






I can remember in the early 90's listening to cats like Common, De La Soul, Tribe, Busta, and many others, theses artist all had classic albums & hits but the one thing that stuck out in my head 1stly, was the sound of the music, Dilla had a raw, grungy, but yet very soulful vibe to himself and his music & shared it with many of artist that you hear today...The drums were ya basic boom snaps and cracks, but it was how it was formatted to the music which made it HOTT!






Honestly, music nowadays is hot and catchy, but never will it be like it was then, ya know like, when you would hear a joint for the 1st time and you would buggout about how it made you feel inside out. And even if you didnt rap or sing, you would at least try.TO ME THATS HIPHOP!! The industry should go back for attemp to bring back that essence. I mean if underground producers can get into the GAME by making music like the 90 to 98 era, then hell! Why not keep the ball rolling? All this snap music & catchy bounce shit really erks me as a listener.



Wheres the substance?! People aint makin music anymore..MY POINT: Putta kid inna room with 2 radio stations that plays songs from today & songs from the 90's or even further back, and the only thing they would like & remember verbatim is the bullshit from today!






WHY, U ASK? they are not attentive to how MUSIC is made but how it sounds, If it sounds catchy and easily remembered then thats what is called a JINGLE<---(Used to sell a product because it lacks quality/substance)






Not knowing that the (pieces) of what they listen to today came from (compositions) of their Parents & Grandparents Era in music. As they say "The good old days" REALLY!!!






I could go on & on about this, but id rather not...Just felt like sharing my reviews & views on this topic since i cant sleep, BET & MTV are soooo lame with their choice in music videos, Hey! Maybe that should be my next piece. stay tuned!!!



1 comment:

Yahya said...

Man, this has got to be my favorite blog...JDilla has always been in my top 3 producers well before he passed away....I mean...all of a sudden people are trying to act like they were up on Dilla...but they're faking to sound cool...fact is they SHOULD'VE BEEN listening to his music...shooooot I got the the old slum village albums, the fantastic, even the import album when they were called J88..and Welcome to Detroit, which isn't even sold anymore in stores... anyway...Great blog and thanks for showing love to one of the greatest that ever lived. Much love Peace