Monday, December 31, 2007

Who is Gav Beats ???




I had the pleasure to meet this cat a while back round 03/04 through a friend of mine at church. Wyoming Pass aka Wy or musically known as Lastborn, him & Gav were playing around onna drums and organ coming up with all types of crazy sounds. Through this is when i discoverd he was the one who produced a local song that i liked onna radio along with a featured artist: Tavarius, "Shes got it" was the song they made. It didnt get crazy radio spins because of HATERZ at the radio station but hey! Thats how it goes when someone is really dope and radio wont show love to local talent. Needless to say thats when i tuned in and let him know that i with him & was tryin to get down and makes some music.....

Producer/Artist /& Writer, Gavin Williams is one of Newport City aka Greensboro's hottest producers. Gav G's or Gav Beats as he is sometimes called comes with a strong gospel upbringing and musical background which sometimes can be detected when you listen to his music. He is considered a triple threat because of his ability to write songs, produce beats, and rap. He is a native of Philadelphia, Pa, and some time in VA, he began shaping his musical talent at the age of 9. He is the son of a music teacher and minister. Gavin's mom taught him how to play all instruments, ranging from the drums to the piano,which soon turned to beat machines and keyboards. but he credits all of his musical abilities to God. Gavin has worked with many artist, both locally and world known. Some of the artist include: Sharieefah Cooper who is now signed with Ludacris label (DTP) ,Jasmine Trias from (American idol) 3rd runner up from Fantasia Barrino, Ricco & JoJo Barrino,Calvin da "Chief" & ROACH cal's daddy, L.I.V.E from Maiximus Music, B-Star from Fortified Ent, Kali- Fam, Young Rome, Toni Braxton, Benzino, Brandon D, E themadassasin, Celinski, Illpo, Franchise, Tyshka, Lastborn(Wy), Young Fletcher, A Rythmic Society, Solcetfre Project. And with the help of these mentioned artist doing shows all over NC. Gavin will soon be releasing a new Mixtape album for 2008. SO GET READY!!! Onna flip side of things that i wanna mention to the world, But I dont wanna jinx it. But put it this way, Hes been inna kitchen cookin up those dishes that we all like, and theres someone out there who jacked his beat puttin their stamp on it, and their ass got caught 50% into what they were doin so hopefully the other 50 should go to gav, and give him a steppin stone further into the industry along with a Miss Toya Nixon......Oh trust and believe that this blog will have a part 2, so stay posted and hold tight till i fill you in onna aftermath.





















2 BE CONTINUED...
www.myspace.com/beatsfromgav

Thursday, December 27, 2007

READY 4 DA NEW YEAR!!!

So So Soooooo glad that the Christmas holidays are finally done, I've never been so ready for it to come and leave all at the same time...lol. Anyway I think I prolly gained at least 15 to 20 pounds starting from thanxgivin, and i also drank like a fish these past few weeks, been out partying and wildin out with NO sleep!!

Its time for a serious change. With all that goin on amongst other things, Ive been thinking on what my newyears resolutions will be for the (08) and it hit me what it is that it needs to be.......and thats IN SHAPE!!! And i mean that physically and mentally, alot of us leave out the mental part. thats what makes us weak in judgement, as far as stickin to yours guns on things and situations. I weighed myself recently, i was about 175/180, and the way i feel now is 200 pounds with 50 pounds of bullshit cloggin my brain. Its most definitely time for a release. I mean that literally..Meaning, strippin the bouls, moderate alcohol consumption, definitely NO SMOKIN. Once i conquer these minor issues over a few weeks then its time for exercise...And i mean DAILY physical & some brain exercises as well.

Letting go of bullshit individuals & their baggage including my owns..Time for a DEEP INHALE!!!! Tellin yourself its gonna get better for you & making it happen for others. Steppin up to the plate like a man or woman and accepting your flaws and inhancing your attributes, not dealing and catering to ones bullshit because WE as individuals have our OWN shit to step in...And then a STRONG EXHALE (try not to cough though) lol...

Inna Nut Shell: Practice self awareness, meditation, ones quality time, physical training, respect, retrospect, & SAFE SEX!!! GOD.........And I honestly think you will do just fine! Sorry about not having any illustrations for this one, Just a message to myself and U!!!!!!!!!!!

Peace & Love World

Sunday, December 23, 2007

BAHAMADIA???




Aight i remember when i 1st heard this braud, Im at home watching videos and all of a sudden BOOM!! this chik comes in with the babysoft, intellectual vocabulistic flow.


IM TRIPPIN HARD! Im like, "who is this"? Her style is wild crazy to me, ("True honey buns, wanna have fun, unlike a chik who settle for da hit & run, YEAH! To all the girls do whatcha gotta do but it aint whatcha do is how you do it") Needless to say that hook had me THROWED OFF! Inna good way that is!!! Automatically, i ended up tapin it so i could watch it ova & ova. After i learned all the lyrics i went down to our local (WILLIES record store<<< Why Did yall close???!!)

Dude was like yeah! so he put me on to it. I bought the joint and went str8 to my cousins house (anotha hip hop junkie) and puttem on. We banged dat all nite....I ended up liking (rugged ruff) a smooth track, heavy bassed, run-on sentence kinda flow. Along with 3 the hard way, Damn that the whole album!!! Researching the credits onna album i realized she is from philly and done some work with the ROOTS another one of my favorite bands, and a few other cats.

I stayed up on her for as long as i could but the way the radio and videos are nowadays you will soon forget these artist. ME personally, I'll neva 4get! Heard a joint she did with DWELE called Philadelphia a long while back (Crazy joint!) Half of the folks that you heard back then its like you gotta google these cats now, thats sad!


Can we at least getta radio station for underground rappers/producers thats on air....Or a video channel???


Ima look into it! Oh fo sho!

Saturday, December 15, 2007

I CAN ONLY BE ME




Hey world, If you dont already know, I am a great fan of music & movies, especially the ones that are touching. To get to my point. When i was younger it was a movie that came out by a Mr. Spike Lee which was "Skool Daze" Maaaaaaan that movie was the shit! The whole college thing and Frats & Soras, BLACK PEOPLE TOGETHER! Singing & Dancing..Anyway speaking of singing it was a song on there this guy was singing. I killed myself stupid tryin to purchase this soundtrack strictly for this one song, but hey back then MOMS wasnt havin it. She thought the movie itself was too much for eyes then. So after a while i soon 4got about it. Well i was on youtube today lookin around (BORED) and stumbled on some scenes from the movie, i found myself laughin like hell, forgettin how funny that flik was. Then it dawned on me, YO!!! Let me find that song i was lookin for. I think i watched every joint searching for it. But no luck:( Then i clik on I CAN ONLY BE ME not knowing that was the name of the song. Low & behold its the song i was lookin for. So since it took me all those years to find it i thought id share it with yall so you can feel the same way I felt when first heard. Enjoi!!!

OK. Well while still listening to this song and searching thru youtube i happen to run across this guy named Fletcher www.myspace.com/fletchersvoice Who simply killed it accapella not knowing he was being filmed hope you enjoi!!!

Sunday, December 9, 2007

NEWPORT CITY, NORTH CAROLINA ???



Aight people, this is for those who smoke cigarettes or simply for the inquiring minds out there. Alot of people hit me on my myspace page and ask where is Newport City, North Carolina? Well people, as if you dont already know, we all like to nickname our cities and states and anything else we can be creative on. So with that being said, if your smoking a Newport right now while reading this, then check out the side of your pack/box and peep the address on there...THERE YOU HAVE IT!!!




Im sorry, and sad to state that NEWPORTS are the best cigarettes out!!! Aint nuttin like a newport inna morning onna way to work, school, over some good convo & drinks, taking a sqwat, (you know what i mean) lol...Hell! Even after sex, thats if your partner can stand the intoxicating aroma. and if so, then its even better when you can share one...Yall know how it goes.."LET ME GET DAT SHORT" LOL!!!




Although i do have intentions on quittin, Newports shall always be a favorite of mine & everyone elses...Is it me or is it that just about every black person you know smoke NP'S? lol ( Im sure that the ratings on that previous observation would be crazy but hey! These are MY views!!!
(Hey! Why ya boy in this AD look like ?uest Love from the roots? lol)

Heres a throw back "Original"commercial.






Until then...."YOU BETTA BLOW DAT SHIT OUUUUT!!!" (Jamie Foxx yall)

TO ME THATS HIPHOP!!




How can one be a lover of hip hop and not know who James Yancey aka Jay Dee is or known to family and friends as J Dilla.






I can remember in the early 90's listening to cats like Common, De La Soul, Tribe, Busta, and many others, theses artist all had classic albums & hits but the one thing that stuck out in my head 1stly, was the sound of the music, Dilla had a raw, grungy, but yet very soulful vibe to himself and his music & shared it with many of artist that you hear today...The drums were ya basic boom snaps and cracks, but it was how it was formatted to the music which made it HOTT!






Honestly, music nowadays is hot and catchy, but never will it be like it was then, ya know like, when you would hear a joint for the 1st time and you would buggout about how it made you feel inside out. And even if you didnt rap or sing, you would at least try.TO ME THATS HIPHOP!! The industry should go back for attemp to bring back that essence. I mean if underground producers can get into the GAME by making music like the 90 to 98 era, then hell! Why not keep the ball rolling? All this snap music & catchy bounce shit really erks me as a listener.



Wheres the substance?! People aint makin music anymore..MY POINT: Putta kid inna room with 2 radio stations that plays songs from today & songs from the 90's or even further back, and the only thing they would like & remember verbatim is the bullshit from today!






WHY, U ASK? they are not attentive to how MUSIC is made but how it sounds, If it sounds catchy and easily remembered then thats what is called a JINGLE<---(Used to sell a product because it lacks quality/substance)






Not knowing that the (pieces) of what they listen to today came from (compositions) of their Parents & Grandparents Era in music. As they say "The good old days" REALLY!!!






I could go on & on about this, but id rather not...Just felt like sharing my reviews & views on this topic since i cant sleep, BET & MTV are soooo lame with their choice in music videos, Hey! Maybe that should be my next piece. stay tuned!!!



Saturday, December 1, 2007

Bloggin Dogg !!!

YO! Just tryin to figure out how this things works and all, Dont really have much to say on my first blog....But stay tuned 4 some brutally honest, but yet funny joints that i share with you....Im tryin to figure out how to incorporate/ illustrate pics,videos & drawings into these blogs....I'll try to keep visuals to better my journey of writing & reviewing.

ENJOI !!!